Apollo Quartet Update

The print-ready files for Apollo Quartet 2: The Eye With Which The Universe Beholds Itself are now, er, ready, and will be with the printer in a couple of days. This means a January 2013 publication date is most likely. Some time next week, I’ll make the book available for pre-order in the Whippleshield Books shop. If you have the signed and numbered hardback of Adrift on the Sea of Rains and would like the second book to have the same number, let me know and it can be arranged.

I had hoped to publish each of the four books of the Apollo Quartet within six to eight months of the preceding one, but I underestimated how much work is involved in each. If you’re making it up as you go along, then perhaps banging out 20,000 to 30,000 words of science fiction is do-able in a couple of months. But when you find yourself reading up to two-dozen books as research before you even get started… Not to mention continually referring to those books during the actual writing itself. But, I like to think, the results were worth it.

So, The Eye With Which The Universe Beholds Itself: a little bit later than planned. But worth the wait.

This does mean, however, I’ll have to reconsider my plans for the remaining two books of the Apollo Quartet. I need to get some short fiction written as I wrote almost none during 2012. So I won’t even be starting book three, Then Will The Great Ocean Wash Deep Above, until at least halfway through 2013. But perhaps I’ll receive a submission I want to publish during the year, so I can keep to my promised schedule of publishing two books a year. We shall see…

Leave a Reply

