Venus is Open for Colonisation

Well no, not really. But the submission period for Whippleshield Books first anthology, Aphrodite Terra, is now open. My plan is to publish a series of mini-anthologies, each themed around a planetary body and containing around 20,000 to 25,000 words. But I’m not really interested in science fiction per se. I want fiction which lives at the point where the borders of science fiction and space fiction meet literary fiction.

To put it bluntly, if you think your story is a good match for a science fiction magazine, it may not be for me. I’m looking for stories that are realistic, but that doesn’t mean they have to be science/space fiction. However, the planet Venus has to feature in there somewhere. Your story could be about the first attempt to land on Venus, or life in a habitat on the surface. It might describe a present-day group of engineers and scientists controlling a probe on the surface of Venus; or perhaps a journalist discovering evidence of a past secret mission to the planet. There are plenty of tales that can be told about Venus. Surprise me. I’m big on realism, so I’ll be looking for that. And good literary prose too.

venus_magellan

Send your stories to editor@whippleshieldbooks.com. Put APHRODITE TERRA SUBMISSION in the email subject. You don’t have to include a cover letter – I’m interested in the story, not in what you’ve had published elsewhere. Attach your story as a .rtf or .doc. Submissions should be no more than 6,000 words. I’m not bothered about standard manuscript format, single-spaced Times New Roman works fine for me. I’m okay with simultaneous submissions, but let me know if someone else takes the story. I’m not keen on multiple submissions. Payment is 3p per word. The submission period closes on 1 February 2014, but I may extend it if necessary. Since I’m only looking for four or five stories, I plan to be very picky. This may require me to hang onto stories until the end of the submission period, but I’ll let you know if that’s the case. I’m buying First English Language Serial Rights, and copyright will remain with the authors. Payment will be on story acceptance.

I’ll be posting submission stats to this blog, much as I did with Rocket Science. If I see too many of a particular type of story, I’ll mention that too. Keep an eye on this blog as it could give you an idea of what I’m after, and what might stand you a better chance of acceptance.

Aphrodite Terra will be published as a paperback and ebook. I’m hoping it will be available by April 2014. I have yet to decide what planetary body I’ll pick next, or when I’ll be reading for the next mini-anthology; but it’ll likely be some time in the later half of 2014.

ETA: The submission has been extended to 31 May 2014. But if I do not receive enough suitable stories by then – and I’m only looking for half a dozen max – the anthology will likely not appear.

9 responses to “Venus is Open for Colonisation

  1. Pingback: Monday Market – Aphrodite Terra Anthology – 1 Feb 2014 (via @ian_sales) | Literarium – The Blog·

  2. # I’ll be posting submission stats to this blog, much as I did with
    # Rocket Science. If I see too many of a particular type of story, I’ll
    # mention that too. Keep an eye on this blog as it could give you an
    # idea of what I?m after, and what might stand you a better chance
    # of acceptance.

    I know I keep saying this, but if everyone did this the world would be a better place.

  3. Pingback: What I'm working on, January 2014 - The Retrospective Thingumajig·

  4. Pingback: Apollo Update |·

  5. Pingback: Aphrodite Terra Update |·

  6. Pingback: Fabulous February News – Science Fiction Near Futures | Rosie Oliver·

  7. Pingback: Roundup of the day | From a blank page to happily ever after·

    • I’d prefer something more substantial. I’m looking to produce a book of around 20,000 words, but of no more than half a dozen individual pieces.

Leave a Reply

